Translate

 

    Calendar

Dates and events are subject to change without notice. Please check frequently.


Blue = Residence halls and apartments opening and closing dates.
Red = Important Housing and Dining Plan Payment due dates.

Updated June 30, 2020

Back to top

June 2020

Date Time Event

Monday, June 1

  Last day to edit first-year and transfer 2020-21 Housing Application. First-years must submit and finalize their application by midnight to be included in room selection.

Monday, June 8

  TENTATIVE: Summer Institute application opens.
Monday, June 8   Summer term assignments viewable in your Housing Portal. Fees posted to Student Account.
Monday-Friday, June 8-12  

Spring quarter, finals week

Friday, June 12   Summer term housing payment due.

Saturday-Sunday,

June 13-14

  POSTPONED - Spring Commencement. 
Sunday, June 14 5 p.m. Apartments close for summer. Residents must move out of their spring assignments by 5 p.m.
Monday, June 15   TENTATIVE: Summer Institute contracts due.

Friday, June 19

8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Spring-to-Summer residents move to their summer assignments.

Monday, June 22

  Summer classes: First 5-week, 8-week, and 10-week sessions begin.

Back to top

July 2020

Date Time Event
Friday, July 3   Academic holiday - Independence Day observed.
Thursday, July 16 9 a.m. TENTATIVE: Students can view room assignments and roommates at 9 a.m. via University Housing on the Cal Poly Portal

July 27 - Sept 11

 

Summer Orientation for first-year students: Virtual SLO Days. Sessions are as follows:

 

  • July 27-28 
  • July 30-31 
  • August 3-4 
  • August 6-7 
  • August 10-11
  • August 12 -13 
  • August 16-17 
  • August 24-25
  • August 31-September 1 
  • September 2-3

 

Sign-ups are accessed through MyCalPoly on the ‘Orientations’ tab.

Friday, July 24   Last day of classes for first 5-week summer session.
Saturday, July 25   Move-out for residents enrolled in the first 5-week summer session.
Sunday, July 26   Move-in for students enrolled in the second 5-week summer session and tentative move-in date for Summer Institute.
Monday, July 27   Classes begin for second 5-week summer session.

August 2020

Date Time Event
Monday, Aug. 3   Payment due for Quarter Plus program participants.
Tuesday, Aug. 11  

2020-21 housing fees post to Student Account. Pay in full, by quarter or monthly by Sept. 1.

Wednesday, Aug. 19   End of 8-week summer courses.
Thursday, Aug. 20   Move-out for 8-week summer session students.
Wednesday, Aug. 26   All students: Last day to cancel campus housing without additional financial penalty, less any non-refundable fees.
Aug. 26 or 27   Transfer SLO Days: Summer orientation sessions for transfer students.
Friday, Aug. 28   Last day of classes for second 5-week session.
Saturday, Aug. 29   Move-out for second 5-week summer session students.
Aug. 31 - Sept. 4   Final examination period for 10-week session.

Back to top

September 2020

Date Time Event

Tuesday, Sept. 1

  First housing & dining installment payment due.
Friday, Sept. 4   End of summer term.
Saturday, Sept. 5   Summer move-out.
Sept. 5 - 9   Academic holiday.
Friday, Sept. 11  

TENTATIVE: North Mountain, Yosemite, Sierra Madre Move-in for new first-years.

 

Students should plan to arrive on campus during their reserved Move-in Arrival Time.

Saturday, Sept. 12  

TENTATIVE: yakʔitʸutʸu and South Mountain move-in for new first-years.

 

Transfer students only move into campus apartments.

 

Students should plan to arrive on campus during their reserved Move-in Arrival Time.

Sept. 13-20   Week of Welcome (WOW), new student orientation. Learn more here.
Sunday, Sept. 13  

Continuing student Move-in begins.

Returning residents can continue to check-in through the start of classes.

Monday, Sept. 14   First day of Fall classes.

Back to top

October 2020

Date Time Event

Thursday, Oct. 1

  Monthly housing & dining installment payments due.

Back to top

November 2020

Date Time Event

November

  TENTATIVE: Cal Poly Lofts application opens.
Sunday, Nov. 1   Monthly housing & dining installment payments due.
Wednesday, Nov. 11   Academic holiday - Veterans Day observed.
Nov. 23-29   Thanksgiving break: campus housing remains open.

Back to top

December 2020

Date Time Event

Tuesday, Dec. 1

  Monthly housing & dining installment payments due.
Friday, Dec. 4  

Last day to cancel winter/spring 2021 Housing & Dining License Agreement without financial penalty.

 

Last day of fall classes.

Dec. 7 - 11   Final examination period.
Saturday, Dec. 12  

End of fall quarter housing period. 

 

Mid-Year Commencement.

Saturday, Dec. 12 - Jan. 3 Noon and 5 p.m.

Residence halls and apartments close for winter break.

 

Students may leave their belongings, but must vacate 24 hours after their last final at 5 p.m. on Dec. 12 at the latest.

 

(Take valuables, medications, passports/IDs and other items with you. Residence halls and apartment buildings are locked during the break, and there is a charge to be escorted in for emergency entry.)

Back to top

January 2021

Date Time Event
January   TENTATIVE: Continuing Student Housing Application opens.

Friday, Jan. 1

  Monthly housing & dining installment payments due.
Sunday, Jan. 3 Noon Campus housing opens for winter quarter. Doors open at noon.
Monday, Jan. 4   First day of winter quarter classes.
Monday, Jan. 18   Academic holiday - Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday observed.

Back to top

February 2021

Date Time Event

Monday, Feb. 1

  Housing & dining installment payments due.
Monday, Feb. 15   Academic holiday -  Washington's Birthday observed.
Tuesday, Feb. 23  

Last day to cancel Spring 2021 housing without financial penalty.

Back to top

March 2021

Date Time Event

Monday, March 1

 

Seventh housing & dining installment payments due.

Friday, March 12   Last day of classes.
March 15 - 19   Final examination period.
March 23-28   Spring break: campus housing remains open. Students do NOT need to remove their belongings.
Wednesday, March 24   Move-out for end-of-winter cancels.
Thursday, March 25   Move-in for new Spring residents.
Monday, March 29   Spring classes begin.
Wednesday, March 31   Academic holiday - César Chavez's Birthday observed.

Back to top

April 2021

Date Time Event

Thursday, April 1

  Monthly housing and dining installment payment due.

Back to top

May 2021

Date Time Event

Saturday, May 1

  Final housing and dining installment payment due.
Monday, May 31   Academic holiday - Memorial Day observed.

Back to top

June 2021

Date Time Event
Friday, June 4   Last day of classes.
June 7 - 11   Final examination period.

Saturday-Sunday,

June 12-13

  Commencement and end of spring term.

Sunday, June 13

 

End of academic year housing contract.

Move-out: Students must vacate their rooms by 5 p.m.

Back to top

Related Content

Support Another Student

Give Today.

Diversity & Inclusion

We are committed to creating equitable communities for all residents, staff and guests.

Find out how